Holy Grail: Garnier Skinactive Micellar Cleansing Water

Mama always says, “If you don’t remove your makeup before bed, you’ll wake up with bumps on your face.” That haunting image is enough to ingrain in me the message that whatever makeup gets on my face needs to get off by end of day.

During my none the wiser days, I used to practice double cleansing i.e. cleaning your face twice using the same cleanser; the first time to remove your makeup and the second to generally cleanse your face. What this did to my skin was make it dehydrated. I guess the oily skin cleanser I used at the time was just too strong that it truly ripped my skin of its moisture.

So I later experimented with makeup removers. Tried various brands and formulations, from oils to milk cleaners. But I’ve always found those to be a little too heavy on my skin. Most leave some residue that could either clog pores or make the skin more oily than it normally is. I have to immediately wash my skin very thoroughly to eliminate the irritating residue.

When the micellar cleansing water hit stores, I remembered purchasing the Bioderma one, specifically the Bioderma Sebium H2O (targeted for oily skin). I was wowed by how good a water-based cleanser is at removing makeup. And it didn’t feel as heavy as other makeup removers I’ve previously tried.

However, there are some cons to it. Firstly, it is pricey. A tiny 100 ml bottles costs you 7.00 USD. And though it is a water-based fluid, its second ingredient is actually a triglyceride, not best for those with oily and breakout-prone skin. Also, I notice that when used to remove my eye makeup, it makes my eye area feel really tight and uncomfortable. The product also doesn’t live up to its promises of controlling oil and sebum production. Though the Bioderma micellar water is a cult favorite, I was still hunting for a better option out there.

Then came the Garnier Skinactive Micellar Cleansing Water. This product I’d say is a holy grail. It is an excellent dupe to the Bioderma Sebium, but with superior properties and at a much much better value.

Image result for garnier micellar water waterproof

(Image source: http://www.ellesees.net/2016/01/new-garnier-micellar-cleansing-water.html)

Priced at 8.99 USD for 400 ml of product, this product is indeed a bang for your buck.

  • It lasts a long time, I only need to soak at most two cotton pads to get rid of my entire makeup – eyes, lips and face.
  • Because it is fragrance free and does not contain any skin irritants, it is gentle enough to be used even on your eyes and lips without leaving the skin feeling tight or uncomfortable.
  • It is effective at removing any waterproof makeup products, so that’s a yay for its claim on that.
  • What I love best is how the skin feels soft and slightly hydrated, but without any residue after using this.

The Garnier Skinactive Micellar Cleansing Water is indeed a terrific product, both in price and quality. For those using a more expensive micellar cleansing water and intend to switch to a more affordable alternative, this is the one. For others who might not be too happy with their current makeup remover, give this a try. Target has just released a travel size edition (100ml) for this product. It’ll be good for those who want to give this awesome product a try!

Leave a Reply

