No Thanks, Sephora Black Friday

With Black Friday coming, let me share with you deals from Sephora that I feel are just not worth your money.

(Image source: http://www.sephora.com/love-at-first-kiss-P408283?skuId=1809466&icid2=black_friday_early_access_112416_25andunder_us_carousel:p408283)

Let’s start with the cheapest. Too Faced Love at first kiss set containing 0.05 oz of Lip Cream in Naked Dolly and 0.07 oz of the Love Flush Blush in Love Hangover, priced at 19.00 USD. First of all, have you seen these items in real life? They’re tiny as hell. Next, swatches of the lip cream show how sheer it is. In fact, I think the only reason this is in a set is because they’re just not colors that people would normally choose, especially the lip cream. You’re not really getting a deal for these if you think about it.

(Image source: http://www.sephora.com/electric-artist-palette-P396407?skuId=1688720&icid2=black_friday_112516_us_skugrid:p396407)

This one is more of a personal preference. I just don’t do super bright, shocking eye shadow colors. And I would only buy a palette if I know I can use it on its own to create multiple looks – that’s what makes it worthy. With this Make Up for Ever Artist Palette Volume 2 in Artistic, the absence of matte shades bothers me. I mean I need a matte shade for my transition color. And how often would I use the second and third rows? Rarely! I don’t do bright colors and I only occasionally do night makeup. So even when priced at 25.00 USD, I just feel that I won’t be using this palette as much to justify its purchase.

(Image source: http://www.sephora.com/everlasting-mini-liquid-lipstick-set-P412344?skuId=1848449&icid2=black_friday_early_access_112416_50andunder_us_carousel:p412344)

Don’t be mistaken. I love liquid lipsticks from Kat Von D. In fact, they’re one of my favorite formulas (click https://sitihajaresa.wordpress.com/category/judge-judy/ for my review on Kat Von D’s Everlasting Liquid Lipstick). But this set, I’m no fan. Priced at 49.00 USD, this set contains 8 mini Everlasting Liquid Lipsticks. Each mini is 0.1 oz. That’s less than half the original packaging. What bothers me though is the fact that I’m a fan of only half the colors here, literally the first four in the row. These are colors that I’d actually use. Even then, the red is stretching it too far as I rarely use such a bright red. So what am I gonna do with the other four? Plus, I’ve already owned Lovesick so there’s really no need for me to get this set. This would be perfect for someone who loves all lip colors, and always use them, and somehow is running out of lip colors now – then this will be a great buy for you. But not if you are constantly wearing neutral lip colors, and already have many other full sized lip colors on your vanity.

So to these deals, I say no thanks!

 

Leave a Reply

