Judge Judy: Milani Color Statement Moisture Matte Lipstick (Matte Naked)

You know, it’s been quite a while since I’ve actually used a classic lipstick – yes, the one you apply to your lips directly from the bullet. Since liquid lipsticks started taking over the beauty world, many of us are now applying our lip product with a wand. It used to be just the glosses that require the wand. Now the wand has mastered all lipstick finishes. Yeah, liquid lipstick are GREAT. But they can be a lot of work, and not to mention the strain on your lips. And, I do miss the simple, classic way of applying my lipsticks.

So, I was elated when my Milani matte lipstick package arrived. Feels like freedom (for my lips) on the doorstep. I also bought a few from NYX, but that’ll come in a later review. Now on to my Milani, I bought the Milani Color Statement Moisture Matte Lipstick in the shade Matte Naked

Image result for Milani matte naked

(Image source: https://milanicosmetics.com/Color-Statement-Moisture-Matte-Lipstick.html)

Milani Color Statement Moisture Matte Lipstick in Matte Naked:

  • 5.99 USD (Milani) / 5.79 USD (Walgreens) / 4.99 USD (Target) / 6.29 USD (CVS)
  • A non-drying matte lipstick infused with grape seed extract for comfortable wear
  • Rich, suede-like finish with just one stroke
  • Long-wearing formula

Described as a matte medium nude, this is how the shade Matte Naked looks on me:

img1480874771978

Review:

Milani Color Statement Moisture Matte Lipstick in Matte Naked:

  • A non-drying matte lipstick infused with grape seed extract for comfortable wear

Well, I’m not so sure what grape seed extract does in a lipstick but in skincare products, it provides soothing properties and is a potent antioxidant as it contains resveratrol. So I’m guessing that’s what it’s doing in a lipstick as well. And I have to say, it works. This lipstick is indeed super comfortable to wear. And it’s not one bit drying. I’m impressed because it leaves kind of a soft matte finish, not tacky at all, and definitely no shine to it. But yeah it feels so smooth and lightweight on the lips.

  • Rich, suede-like finish with just one stroke

For a nude color, I would agree that its pigments are rich. I love how the color is opaque enough for a nude, and very much buildable. With one stroke (opaque enough), it appeared as a peachy to soft brown shade, but when I swiped back and forth a few times I got a more pinky brown tone. And I like that, quite versatile.

  • Long-wearing formula

The photo above is taken after about three hours of wear and one doughnut later. I would say it has good staying power. Of course it is not transfer-proof but it behaves. It doesn’t easily transfer and it fades off in a consistent manner so your lip color always looks uniform.

For a super affordable classic lipstick with a matte finish, the ultra comfortable wear and longevity of this product impressed me. So ditch that wand for a while ladies, and hop on the bullet lipstick ride!

VERDICT: Highly Recommended

Leave a Reply

