Judge Judy: Huda Beauty Lip Contour and Liquid Lipstick (Trendsetter)

In a previous Huda Beauty review, I explained at length how unhappy I was with the finish and formulation of their liquid lipstick in the shade Famous (https://sitihajaresa.wordpress.com/2016/09/21/judge-judy-huda-beauty-liquid-lipstick-famous/). Being Huda’s follower on Instagram, I bear rather high expectations of her products. She appears committed to bringing the best on the table, and I must say her marketing strategies totally draw you in. Which is why despite my initial disappointment with one of her liquid lipsticks, I was still keen to try a couple more and hope that they’ll fair much better. 

This time, I decided to give my lips a double dosage of Huda’s products. Since I have snagged the Huda Beauty Lip Contour set during Sephora’s VIB Rouge sale, I am giving the lip contour and liquid lipstick in the shade Trendsetter a try. 

Image result for huda beauty lip contour trendsetterImage result for huda beauty liquid lipstick trendsetter

(Image source: https://www.cultbeauty.co.uk/huda-beauty-lip-contour.html & http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/100-AUTHENTIC-Huda-Beauty-Liquid-Matte-TRENDSETTER-FREE-TRACKING-/172334366350)

Huda Beauty Lip Contour in Trendsetter:

  • 19.00 USD for 0.042 oz
  • Intense color payoff with a matte finish
  • Easy-glide contouring and filling
  • Waterproof and transfer-proof

Huda Beauty Liquid Lipstick in Trendsetter:

  • 20.00 USD for 0.17 fl oz
  • A highly comfortable, long wear liquid lipstick
  • Lightweight formula that dries to a matte finish
  • Intense color payoff with transfer-free properties

Described as a stylish brown nude, this is how the shade Trendsetter looks on me: 

img1483581195341.jpg

Since I wore the lip contour and liquid lipstick together by layering the lipstick over the pencil, I would do a combined review of both. 

Review:

Huda Beauty Lip Contour and Liquid Lipstick in Trendsetter:

  • Intense color payoff with a matte finish

When I looked at picture and video swatches of this shade, I was rather apprehensive about how the color will appear on me. Some show it to be brownish, while others were leaning towards an orangey hue. I noted that the shade Trendsetter in the lip contour form is slightly darker than its liquid lipstick counterpart. The lip contour leans more reddish, while the liquid lipstick has a warmer orange undertone that I found to be surprisingly flattering. Definitely great color payoff that does appear matte.

  • Easy-glide contouring and filling (lip contour only)

The lip contour is definitely a pleasure to apply. Its creamy and smooth texture allows for, as the description says, easy glide in defining and filling the lips. The pencil remarkably feels hydrating on the lips and does not flake or settle into lines.

  • A highly comfortable, long wear liquid lipstick

One of Huda’s biggest promises for her liquid lipstick is its comfort and hydration despite its matte formula and finish. As with my previous review of this particular claim, I continue to agree that this lipstick is ultra comfortable. The formula does not feel dry at all, most likely due to a slight tackiness to its finish. This is the kind of liquid lipstick that will give you that slight sticky feeling, almost like a cream lipstick when you purse your lips together, but not to a point where it feels as sticky as a lip gloss. It is definitely a whole different formula compared to liquid lipsticks from say Kat Von D and Anastasia Beverly Hills which are completely dry and leave no tackiness behind. In fact, I feel that my lips look most flattering with this formula as it keeps them looking plump and well hydrated and does not accentuate any lines or dryness. By the end of the day, Trendsetter does not crumble or crack. 

  • Waterproof and transfer-proof

Unlike the shade Famous which pisses me off to the ground with its ultra-transferring property, the shade Trendsetter does not transfer as badly. Don’t get me wrong, it still transfers. When you purse your lips gently on a tissue paper, you will see a stain. Unlike the Kat Von D and Anastasia Beverly Hills formula, Huda Beauty’s is not transfer-proof. However, despite the transfer for the shade Trendsetter, it does not seem to bear any negative effect on how the product remains on your lips. It also doesn’t transfer like crazy as the shade Famous did. Despite the very slight transfer to my serviette, the color and texture of Trendsetter still remains amazing on my lips. And for that I say Amen!

I’m glad I gave this brand another chance. It is indeed true how formulas can differ for varying shades. Here’s to hoping that Huda could maintain a consistent formula for all her shades!

VERDICT: Highly Recommended

Leave a Reply

