Judge Judy: YSL Rouge Volupte Shine

So recently I’ve received quite a number of lipsticks in the mail (thanks Sephora) and I decided to check them out and put them to the Judge Judy test. I’ve done about six swatches so far, and I think I have about ten more to go. And for the first time I’m posting a lipstick review of a few shades at a time! I’ll be breaking down these lipstick reviews into five posts, so stay tune for the rest. Now let’s start swatching!

ysl-spring-2016-rouge-volupte-shine-4

(Image source: http://chicprofile.com/ysl-rouge-volupte-shine-spring-2016-collection)

The first brand of lipstick I’m reviewing today is from Yves Saint Laurent (YSL). With its iconic golden packaging, the Rouge Volupte Shine series feature what they call an oil-in-stick, medium-coverage lipstick.

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine

  • 37.00 USD for 0.15 oz
  • Medium-coverage lipstick that hydrates your lips
  • Oil-infused to impart high-performance color and shine
  • All-day comfort, lips appear healthy, smooth and nourished

our-photos2-001

Left: Described as a coral pink, this is how the shade 41 (Corail A Porter) looks on me. Middle: Described as a bright strawberry pink, this is how the shade 49 (Rose Saint Germain) looks on me. Right: Described as a cherry red, this is how the shade 45 (Rouge Tuxedo) looks on me.

Review:

YSL Rouge Volupte Shine in 41, 49 and 45:

  • Medium-coverage lipstick that hydrates your lips
  • Oil-infused to impart high-performance color and shine
  • All-day comfort, lips appear healthy, smooth and nourished

Being a high shine lipstick, these do feel more like a lip balm, only slightly more tacky. So it does have that moisturizing feel but I wouldn’t know the extent to which the product actually provides hydration to the lips. But wearing the lipstick does impart the appearance of smooth and well-nourished lips.

As for the coverage, I would say that it differs for the lighter color. Shade 41 (Corail A Porter) applied extremely streaky on me that I had to go over the lips multiple times for an even application. Even then, the coral shade is not as bright as the color looks in the tube and I could still see my lips peeking through the shade. Shade 49 (Rose Saint Germain) and Shade 45 (Rouge Tuxedo) applied excellent and was truly opaque. So color wise I would say that the bolder colors are definitely more high-performance and pigmented as compared to the lighter one.

However, all three exceeded my expectation shine-wise. It has a wet glossy finish yet the texture on the lips feels rather satiny, which is pleasant because I’m no fan of a sticky gloss consistency.

In terms of wear, since it is an oil-infused lipstick it does fade and transfer. Of course the brand doesn’t claim for it to be long-wearing considering its formula. But it layers on well with touch-ups and do not leave a stubborn stain upon removal.

Overall, do I love this lipstick? It is a good lipstick for what it claims to be. If you are into a high shine finish lip product, this might be your cup of tea. As for me, I don’t really care for high shine/glossy finish. But I have to admit that the shades 45 and 49 in this YSL Rouge Volupte Shine have impressed me!

VERDICT: Recommended

Leave a Reply

