Holy Grail Exclusive: My Favorite Makeup Brushes

In this edition of Holy Grail, I’m gonna do an exclusive where I feature not just one product but six products! And they are my FAVORITE makeup brushes! So, in no particular order, here goes the list!

MAC 217 Blending Brush

Image result for MAC 217

(Image source: http://www.maccosmetics.com/product/13804/380/products/brushes-tools/brushes/eye-brushes/217-blending-brush)

This classic MAC 217 has to be my all-time favorite blending brush. The bristles are dense enough to pack color, yet sufficiently soft and fluffy to blend your eyeshadow. I can use it to deposit product on my lid using the flat side, and then with the pointed top, gently blend the color out to the crease. It is also great at applying and blending transition colors. I love this brush for its versatility, and honestly could be the only brush I need to do a simple eye makeup. (But who am I kidding, I need a thousand and one brushes)

IT Cosmetics Heavenly Luxe Pointed Precision Complexion Brush #11

Image result for it cosmetics heavenly luxe pointed precision complexion brush

(Image source: https://www.itcosmetics.com/heavenly-luxer-pointed-precision-complexion-11)

I don’t use as much cream products, but when I do, the IT Cosmetics pointed precision brush 11 is my trusted ally. The great density of the brush allows for a smooth application of cream highlighters. Its pointed tip also allows for precise application on the bridge of the nose, cupid’s bow and inner corners of the eyes. I usually use this brush with my Kevyn Aucoin Candlelight Celestial cream highlight and they work amazing. I’ve also used this brush to set my under eye – its precise tip allows you to get to the corners of your eyes with ease. Though it’s not my go to under eye setting brush, it performs well.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brush #12

Image result for Anastasia Beverly Hills brush 12

(Image source: http://www.anastasiabeverlyhills.com/brush-12/ABH01-28033.html)

Anastasia Beverly Hills brush 12 is my ride or die. My eyebrows are totally dependent on this brush. I don’t normally purchase brushes that are recommended to go along with products, but this brush is made for the ABH’s Dipbrow Pomade. The angled flat top is able to grab just enough product, and warm the pomade with ease on my hands before depositing it smoothly and evenly on my brows. The exceptional property of this brush has to be its densely packed bristles (synthetic), for with a light hand, you are able to create the most natural hair-like strokes on the brows. If I don’t feel like using my Brow Wiz, and am in the mood for my Dipbrow Pomade, this is the only brush I reach for.

Morphe M507 Pointed Mini Blender

Image result for Morphe m507

(Image source: https://www.morphebrushes.com/products/m507-pointed-mini-blender)

I don’t often use this brush since nine out of ten times I only do simple wash of color on the eye look. But that one out of ten time that I do a more intricate eye look, or one that uses more than three shades, I would definitely be picking up this Morphe 507. Its slim tapered top has a fine point that allows you to deposit color in specific areas with more precision such as the outer V, and blends the color out well. It also works great in deepening the crease with a light application of a darker color, what I usually use this brush for. Being a slim brush, I’m impressed at how it is sturdy enough to deposit color, yet soft enough to blend.

Tarte Rainforest of the Sea The Airbrusher Double-Ended Concealer Brush

Image result for tarte airbrush double ended concealer brush

(Image source: http://www.sephora.com/rainforest-the-sea-airbrusher-double-ended-concealer-brush-P405597 )

Though I would normally use my beauty blender to apply and blend out concealer, when I’m too lazy to dampen the sponge I would be using the Tarte Airbrusher Double-Ended Brush to apply my concealer. The smaller, more precised end is perfect for under-eye highlighting and concealing of spots while the larger brush helps to buff concealer into larger areas that need coverage without streaking. On days where I don’t feel like applying lots of face products, I would just grab this brush and a trusted concealer and start to brighten and even out my complexion and I’m good to go. You can also use either side to buff foundation into oily-prone areas or surfaces with more prominent pores and texture using small, circular motion. To add to its versatility, this brush is also great for applying and blending eyeshadow!

Real Techniques Buffing Brush

Image result for real techniques buffing brush

(Image source: http://ommorphiabeautybar.com/real-techniques-makeup-brushes-face/)

This Real Techniques buffing brush is a great complexion tool for a few uses. It performs well in buffing out your liquid or cream foundation. It also works extremely well with powder formulas, be it powder foundation, loose or pressed powder, to buff them onto your skin. I love using this brush at the end of my makeup routine, with a finishing powder to buff my whole face. The result – an airbrushed complexion!

I’ve tried to include brushes for different purposes. I hope you found this list helpful. Till the next one.

Leave a Reply

