Holy Grail Exclusive: My Favorite Eyeshadow Palettes

So I tend to discredit eyeshadow palettes a lot, and some of you are wondering whether there are any in existence that I fancy. The good news is, of course there are. My favorite eye shadows are usually featured in my makeup looks here. A couple of friends suggested I list my favorite eye shadow palettes so that they could choose from my selection. I have categorized my favorite eye shadows so that there is an eyeshadow palette for every need or occasion and included a link below every image to more extensive external reviews of each palette. So here goes, a list of my favorite eye shadows!

Most Versatile Eyeshadow Palette:

Lorac PRO Palette (44.00 USD)

Image result for lorac pro palette

(Image source: http://www.shamelessfripperies.com/blog/lorac-pro-palette-lone-dissenter/)

Lorac Pro is that eyeshadow palette you can use for almost every occasion. Night or day? Check. Neutral or smoky? Check. Matte or shimmer? Check. Soft or bold? Check. This has to be one of the most versatile eyeshadow palettes out there. And it is such a well conceived and well executed palette. The color range, finishes and pan placement all makes sense. I love how the mattes are in the top row while the shimmers/metallics are in the bottom row. The color spectrum is also arranged in a way that is easy for the user to work their way through. The formula? One of the best. The mattes in this palette are creamy and ultra-pigmented, as well as easy to blend. The color pay off for the shimmers/metallics are amazing. The packaging is real sleek, though the black rubbery surface (resembling that of NARS packaging) can retain prints and makeup residue. All in all, a great investment for myself as I reach out for this palette often.

Best Warm-Toned Neutrals Eyeshadow Palette:

Anastasia Beverly Hills Modern Renaissance Palette (42.00 USD)

Image result for anastasia beverly hills modern renaissance

(Image source: http://www.temptalia.com/anastasia-modern-renaissance-eyeshadow-palette-review-photos-swatches/)

I love me some warm-toned colors, and the Modern Renaissance palette fulfills my every desire for that. It is such a beautiful palette, with a brilliant selection of colors and finishes. For a warm neutrals palette, the possibilities of eye looks from this palette are endless. I love how the palette contains gradients of orange and reddish hues, with some mauves, pinks, browns and gorgeous highlight colors to boot. The formula blends like a dream, it almost blends itself. Every use I got out of this palette was a joy. This is the only warm neutrals palette I’d ever need in my life.

Best Smoky Eyeshadow Palette:

Zoeva Smoky Eyeshadow Palette (26.50 USD)

Untitled

(Image source: https://dorotheabeauty.com/2015/12/04/makeup-staple-zoeva-smoky-eyeshadow-palette/)

Smoky palettes aren’t always a hit. At least for me, they have been pretty disappointing (e.g. Urban Decay Naked Smoky). Smoky palettes I’ve seen thus far, such as the Urban Decay Naked Smoky always consists of multiple greys and browns that honestly, when placed on the eyes blend into one another to one color instead of a gradation of colors. They’re neither flattering nor sexy. Therefore when I first chanced upon the Zoeva Smoky palette, I was pleasantly surprised with the color selection. Firstly, all the colors are different. You have a grey, a pink, a red, a purple, a brown, a black, a green… The variety enables you to create different smoky looks, even non-smoky looks I would say. It’s definitely one of the more appealing and versatile smoky palettes out there, and with all Zoeva eyeshadows, the quality is buttery soft, pigmented, non-chalky and easy to blend.

Best Beginner Neutrals Eyeshadow Palette:

Bobbi Brown Telluride Eyeshadow Palette (52.00 USD)

Untitled

(Image source: http://myfunnyvalentineblog.com/2015/06/bobbi-brown-telluride-eyeshadow-palette-review-swatches-fotd.html)

This has to be one of the oldest eyeshadow palettes I’ve owned, and for good reason. It was one of the first eyeshadow palettes I bought when I just started doing eye makeup. This palette I believe is very well suited for beginners. It really is a basic neutral palette, almost resembling some of the Urban Decay Naked Basics but with more shades and varying finishes. A beginner can use this palette to develop the skills of eyeshadow placement and blending. For one, the shadows are not ultra-pigmented. This means it is more forgiving for beginners especially when mistakes are made. The colors Woodrose and Antique Rose (second eyeshadows from the left and right) are great transition colors. The fact that these are the only transition colors makes it easy for beginners who may struggle if given a twelve or sixteen pan eyeshadow palette. The shimmer colors are flattering on any skin tone, and easy to blend. The brush that comes with the palette also works well – one side is for blending and the other for packing color. All in all, this is a very focused type of palette that is very beginner-friendly.

Best Neutral Matte Eyeshadow Palette:

Too Faced Natural Matte Neutral Eyeshadow Palette (36.00 USD)

Image result for too faced natural matte palette

(Image source: http://www.temptalia.com/too-faced-natural-matte-eyeshadow-palette-review-photos-swatches/)

If you’ve been following my reviews for a while, you’d know that I’m very skeptical of new eyeshadow palettes from Too Faced. I sense that they’re now more about cute packaging than product quality. However, their 9-pan tin palettes have always been my go-to in their collection. The Too Faced Natural Matte palette features a great selection of neutral, warm, and cool matte shades. I like how the color spectrum includes differing shades of browns – deeper brown, lighter milk chocolate brown, honey brown, even pink-based brown. The arrangement of the palette also makes it easy for users. I wouldn’t say that this is the most pigmented and buttery formula you’ll ever get in a full matte palette for I’ve seen and tested better. But I find this to be a very decent, fuss-free neutral palette that is very easy to work with, and one where you’ll have no qualms to reach out for when you just want a simple wash of color or some subtle definition around the eyes.

Best Drugstore Eyeshadow Palette:

BH Cosmetics x Carli Bybel 14-Color Eyeshadow and Highlighter Palette (14.50 USD)

Image result for carli bybel palette

(Image source: https://www.beautypeadia.com/bhcosmetics/2017/1/1/carli-bybel-palette)

I have always been hesitant to purchase high street eyeshadow palettes. Based on previous experiences testing and purchasing drugstore eyeshadows, I don’t have a positive opinion of their quality. Therefore I kinda stopped buying drugstore eyeshadows when I was twenty, and that was more than a decade ago. I still visit the drugstore every now and then to swatch their new eyeshadow collections, but have never been impressed, specifically with brands like Loreal, Maybelline, Revlon etc. Recently though I’ve been testing and looking through reviews of other drugstore brands like BH Cosmetics. To be honest, the decision to purchase the BH Cosmetics x Carli Bybel palette was largely due to Carli herself, whom I really adore and the price point was kind of a no brainer for ten eyeshadows and four highlighters. I told myself to not expect so much from this palette. But boy oh boy, was I so pleasantly surprised by its quality. The shadows are pigmented and easy to blend, the highlighters are totally blinding, even giving my high end highlighters a run for their money. The mauve/plum, bronze/copper color spectrum is definitely to my liking as these are the colors I tend to gravitate towards on a daily basis. Overall, for the money you spend, you are definitely getting a bang for your buck with this palette. BH and Carli has recently launched a newer version of this palette – the deluxe edition which features twenty-two colors (eyeshadows and highlighters) for 22.50 USD. The color scheme on both palettes bear some resemblance, but with the newer palette having pops of coral colors and more matte brown transition shades. But I feel the original palette itself is enough, and big enough, and it’s still sold in Ulta and BH Cosmetics.

Best Travel Sized Eyeshadow Palette:

Tarte Tartelette Tease Eyeshadow Palette (23.00 USD)

Image result for tarte tartelette tease palette

(Image source: http://www.collectivebeautyblog.com/2016/02/24/tarte-tartelette-tease-palette/)

I decided to include this palette for those who travel quite a bit, and travel light. If you do, I’m sure you don’t want to be bringing a 16-pan eyeshadow palette with you. In that case, the Tarte Tartelette Tease palette is your perfect fit. Housing six eyeshadows in a cute compact, this palette is truly sufficient for any occasion eye makeup. The color scheme gravitates towards browns and mauves but the inclusion of deeper matte shades, lighter brow bone or highlight colors and pops of gorgeous shimmers make this palette a breeze to work with and to travel with. Did I also not tell you that this palette smells of cocoa? Yes, that’s the bonus.

So that’s it for my favorite eyeshadow palettes. There are actually a couple more that I do really like and wanted to include in this post but I think I’d just limit it to my real top favorites and also to ensure a variety of different types of palettes so that everyone can find something they like. I hope you find my opinion on each of the products helpful. Till the next one!

