Judge Judy: Tarte Tarteist Creamy Matte Lip Paint (Tbt)

Wow, I can’t believe it’s actually been a hot minute there since I last did a liquid lipstick review. But I’m back with another lip product! It’s one that I’ve owned for quite a while but never really got to using it much. But for the sake of this review, I did wear the lipstick over a few days to see how it performs under varying circumstances. So without further ado, let me introduce you to the product of the day, from Tarte Cosmetics – the Tarte Tarteist Creamy Matte Lip Paint in the shade Tbt.

(Image source: http://www.sephora.com/tarteist-lip-paint-P403800?skuId=1777267)

Tarte Tarteist Creamy Matte Lip Paint in Tbt:

  • 20.00 USD for 0.20 fl oz
  • Lightweight, moussey texture with a non-drying finish
  • Provides a sophisticated, velvet matte finish
  • Full coverage, long-wearing liquid lipstick

Described as a mauve, this is how the shade Tbt looks on me:

Collages

Review:

Tarte Tarteist Creamy Matte Lip Paint in Tbt:

  • Lightweight, moussey texture with a non-drying finish

When I first applied this lipstick, the moussey texture truly came through. It doesn’t feel liquidy like the Huda Beauty liquid lipstick, nor is it a creamy consistency like the Kat Von D one. It literally feels like mousse, almost whipped like; therefore it is airy and feels lightweight. After the product settles down, your lips don’t feel dry like how the Anastasia Beverly Hills liquid lipstick made mine feel. In fact, it has that kind of weightless property to it that makes lips feel comfortable.

  • Provides a sophisticated, velvet matte finish

I don’t know exactly what Tarte means when they use the adjective sophisticated to describe the finish, but if I were to guess, then I would associate it with the fact that the finish is consistent throughout your entire lips. It’s neither patchy nor streaky (I can’t say the same for other colors though unless I’ve tried them) and it does give off a velvet matte finish.

  • Full coverage, long-wearing liquid lipstick

I wouldn’t say that only one swipe is what it takes to attain full coverage. I had to dip in for at least a second time before the coverage became quite opaque. However if I were to compare the opacity with the Kat Von D liquid lipstick in Double Dare (cocoa blush color), I would say the latter is definitely much more full coverage. The latter really blurred the lines on my lips, but with the Tarte one, those lines are still quite visible as you can see in the photo above.

As to its claim of being long-wearing, the longest I had this on my lips was for eight hours. In that time, I had a meal twice, and touched up once after the first meal. The lipstick did fade a little after my first meal, but it was a consistent fade throughout the entire lips rather than only in the center or the edges. Re-applying the product wasn’t too bad as it still felt lightweight and looked decent. At the end of the day, the lipstick didn’t look the best though. It’s opacity diminished, and my original lip color was starting to peek through. But I guess you’d expect that after a long wear. However, if you’re one who doesn’t touch up your lipstick, and wants a product that really stays on your lips no matter what, then the Tarte Tarteist Creamy Matte Lip Paint in Tbt isn’t your best bet.

Would I re-purchase this lipstick? I wouldn’t buy the shade Tbt again. I was actually pretty disappointed that the color described as a mauve looked more like a coffee rose or a chestnut rose on me. It wasn’t exactly the kind of mauve that I was expecting. But I wouldn’t be opposed to trying other colors from the range. It’s not a bad formula, but it isn’t the best either. So if you’re really interested, no harm giving it a try. You might end up loving it!

VERDICT: Recommended

